More Scotland Things

So when I said I would post something on “x” day, everyone knew that was a lie, right?

Schedules and I really don’t get along. (And in my defense, part of the delay was from finishing coursework and then writing my research proposal for my dissertation.)

That being said, pictures of Scotland!

This first picture is from our visit to The Scottish Crannog Centre. A crannog is a type of ancient dwelling built over the loch. It was really neat! We got to go inside of a reconstructed one, as well as learn about how they would have carved wood and made fire. Some of us like fire more than others.

Cuddle Cthulhu is learning to make fire. This should make you very afraid.

Cuddle Cthulhu is learning to make fire. This should make you very afraid.

The next two pictures are from our visit to Blair Castle.

This is a lamb. Sleeping on top of another sheep (presumably its mother). Cue major squee session.

This is a lamb. Sleeping on top of another sheep (presumably its mother). Cue major squee session.

Look at the sleepy lamb! Look at it! Y’all, I saw so many adorable baby animals on this trip. Hurrah for spring time. But I think lambs are my favorite. Especially the super little ones. Especially when they frolic. I like cute things, okay? I even got a little stuffed sheep toy at Urquhart Castle (on the banks of Loch Ness) – its name is Shortbread. = D

Looks like a scene out of a fairy tale

Looks like a scene out of a fairy tale

This makes me want to write things. Or reread old favorites involving castles. It was a really lovely place to visit, and the grounds were beautiful. They also had a playground. Naturally, we went on the swing set. I mean, we’re total adults after all.

We went to so many other places. Several of them quite tragic, like the Culloden battlefield memorial and Glencoe. Visiting places like that, it really leaves a heavy, solemn feeling in you. And I think it’s good to feel like that sometimes, to remember.

But I can’t end on a sad note. It was a grand time, full of fun and friends. And incredible music, of course. I think I left a bit of my soul in Scotland, and that’s fine with me. I’m so glad that I got to go on the trip. If I ever stop being horrible at posting pictures, I’ll do a full album on Facebook or something (I….would not count on this happening, if I were you).

And now I’m going to Italy! In about 2 hours, actually. Hurrah! More adventures to post about! Maybe in a more timely manner this time around. Maybe… =D

My love always, dear readers. I hope your days are splendid. ❤

Leave a Reply

