Endings

This is the last week of term. I finished my Monday classes yesterday, and now I just have the last Friday. Of course, I still have all my final coursework due in the next few weeks, and then my dissertation, so it isn’t really over. But things will definitely change.

This Friday will be the last time (for the foreseeable future) that I am a student going to classes. Of course, I’m still a student until I finish my degree. After that, of course I will keep learning things. You can never really stop learning things, or life would get boring. Yet the routine of having a class schedule and being a student is ending. I’m not sure how to feel about that. I think even though I’m ready to start being a “real adult” (ha!) in some ways, I’m going to miss it. Especially because the other people in #citylis are pretty wonderful, and now I will be seeing much less of them.

At the moment, however, I mostly just feel a little freaked out about how much work I have to get done before this term is actually behind me. Two papers, a taxonomy, and my website. It’s going to be fun and awful at the same time, most likely. At least this time I’ve started everything already – no all-nighters for me this time. Even so, it’s going to take a lot of work, so that’s where most of my mental energy will be directed. I will try to remember to take some down time to recharge (and explore with Cuddle Cthulhu) even while getting all my work done. Who’s stressed? I’m not stressed; are you stressed? *stress noises*

But actually I’m sure it will be fine.

I have a friend visiting from Florida soon! Note to self: get all coursework done before then…

I was also working on editing my NaNoWriMo novel and a new short story, but that’s all on hold until coursework is finished.

This week is the London Book Fair. I went with Kendra today, and we’re going back tomorrow and Thursday. Ernesto is participating in one of the panels on Thursday morning, so I may try to give a little bit of a report on that. Today I heard someone on a panel say that Amazon is a bookstore. Amazon may sell books, but they are not a bookstore. I was going to do some tweeting during the event (#LBF14 if you’re interested), but Twitter and the wi-fi were both misbehaving on my phone. Alas. Perhaps tomorrow will be better in that regard. It’s certainly an interesting event. I’m not sure I’ve ever been to anything like it. And it’s huge!

Chocolate Festival next Saturday.

Oh yeah, and did I mention coursework yet? Because coursework.

Boy, this is going to be an interesting ride.

p.s. I promise the next post will involve Cuddle Cthulhu = ). And possibly a rant about the idea of “digital natives.”

p.p.s. You are a fabulous human being.

Leave a Reply

