Look Both Ways

Hello hello!

When my mom and I were starting to plan our visit to London in earnest (well, my move, her visit), one of the things which we remembered is that in the UK, people drive on the left side of the road. I could be snarky and say the wrong side, but we’ll just go with “left” to describe it (side note, why is Firefox telling me that snarky is not a word? Snarky is definitely a word! And even if it weren’t – which it is, I just checked Merriam-Webster because Firefox made me paranoid – it would become one because language is constantly evolving, Firefox. Get with the program. Where was I? Right, driving, sorry.). My father made a comment that we would have to remember to look the other direction before crossing the street so we wouldn’t get hit by any cars. Now, I knew this wouldn’t be a problem, because I have a very specific set of life rules. Two very important rules that I think get at the foundation of living well in our modern society.

Rule number one: Always look both ways before crossing the street.

Rule number two? Don’t be a dick.

That’s it. Those are my only hard and fast rules. Look both ways before you cross the street, and don’t be a dick (or asshole or whatever-you-want-to-call-it).

I know there are other things that are important in life, and I’m sure most people when asked to come up with a list of life rules would have many more than two. There are plenty of more specific ways that people can enrich or structure their lives, plenty of things to think are important. But I really believe that when you get down to it, you can get by pretty well with just these two.

For people who know me really well, you’ve probably heard this philosophy before. But I think it’s important to share, because some people get really hung up on making all these rules for themselves, thinking they they’ve found this complex formula for living a good life, and then get caught in a cycle of beating themselves up when they fail, creating more and more rules. Just calm down. Look both ways, and don’t be a dick. Take a step back, breathe deeply, and remember that it doesn’t always have to be that complicated (I know, sometimes things are actually complicated, but most of the time, you’re making it too complicated).

Am I done moralizing you yet?

Nope. For real, y’all, don’t be a dick. I can’t even stress that enough.

Okay, now I’m done. Have a lovely evening! ❤

p.s. I surpassed 10k words for NaNoWriMo! And I’m not sick of my story yet. Will I complete my first Nano? Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

